Statist rights violations coming to a restaurant near you.

7 10 2010

I have just had the misfortune of overhearing two people I know discussing what a great idea it would be to force restaurants to display health ratings for their dishes. 

I think this conversation was sparked because state government of South Australia is conducting a parliamentary enquiry on a related topic, health inspections.  See article for more details. 

I couldn’t hold my tongue and said:

“And who will decide what’s healthy for you and what’s not?”

Then I said,

“And who will police this?” 

I got no reply. 

I can’t help but think that there’s a lot of ill will out there in our community.  Ban this, ban that.  Insert gun-backed force on my fellow man here, there and everywhere. 

Anyway, here’s some somewhat related comedy to lift my spirits.  I love the Nurse Florence sketch done on BBCs “Little Miss Jocelyn”.  Although secretly I fear I will encouter a nurse like this one day the way the government controls and continually meddles with health services in this country.  Unfortunately there’s only one sketch on YouTube and it’s not the best I’ve seen, but it’s still pretty good. 

“Oooooooooo you are heaveeeee”.  “The goverment does not want you to be this fat”.  “Save yourself!”  🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

